Skip to content

Blackjack (Dirty Snow)

December 12, 2013

onehundredandfifteen

You lay in my arms.
And dreamt of dead flowers.
Because you knew.
Sick heart.
You were leaving.
Where did you go?
Whilst I smoked.
And you slept.
We both know.
Though you kept.
The graveside from the grieving.
And I’m ill again.
I was never really well.
And I know.
You know.
But you don’t know.
Just how ill I’ve really been.
Just how badly I’m hurt.
For each knife and new lover.
I’m no better.
No worse.
I thought no sea and no sand.
Would stand between us.
Now I’ve only to catch.
The smell of your sweat on my fingers.
And I shelter.
All those and safe and small places.
Where I curl up and cower.
When you’re lying in bed.
Whilst I’m stood in the shower.
And list all the sound reasons.
That I have not to love you.
If you were to take to your heels.
And set down with another.
All the same silly reasons.
That I dreamt up before.
When I blamed blood on the virgin.
And lust on the whore.

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

