Skip to content

Gospel of Judas (Kaiju and The Drowning Pool)

September 11, 2013

Josephine Baker Putting On Makeup

That automaton sheen to your face.
Not a hair out of place.
Not a hair out of place.
Your inhuman beauty.
So destructive to the drinker.
Plastic and impure.
A floating, feathered lure.
Swallowed.
Hook, line and sinker.

I miss you more than I can bear.
And I would tear time to strips.
To be be back there in my bed.
That first time I touched your lips.
Your head rested on my faltering chest.
To say the things I wish I’d said.
And not be haunted by each hour.
But told you then.
“You’re everything I’ve ever wanted”.

Do you not understand?
I dreamt of armageddon.
But I smiled at the damned.
Kissed your bonfire hair.
Held your ashen hand.
Laughed at the plight.
Of that penultimate light.
Hungry, warm and white.
As it swallowed the land.
There was no struggle.
No fight.
For I was no longer a man.
A child in the sun.
A breeze in the night.
An oak in the earth and a monolith in the sand.
At peace in The End.
As never in life.

Well, guess what?
Fuck you.
I no longer love you.
You screwed me.
You lost me.
But I know you still want me.
You just don’t scream it as loud.
As I tend to do.
And I hope that you dream.
Of the Apocalypse, too.
That my hand in your hand.
Is like a big cat at the zoo.
Safe on all sides.
But ravished by ague.
For safety and peace are not always the same.
Your name is her name is your name.
And it’s true.

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

