Skip to content

Minute

December 18, 2012

five

I’ve promised you every night.
Since I was young.
And you were old before your time.
And in that chill before the light.
I’ve hobbled those snorting horses.
And fairly held the line.

I promised you a bracelet.
I promised you a locket.
I promised you a day at sea.
Then claimed that I’d forgot it.

I love you little whore.
Don’t you fucking know it.
You have teeth for all the rest.
Don’t you fucking show it.

I let you away with murder.
Too pretty to say “you can’t”.
I let you sleep beneath the gallows.
Of my dying Maiden Aunt.

Everybody loves your smile.
Because they don’t see the Red.
I forgive them all your loving hand.
That holds my throat in bed.

I love you little Nephilim.
Without you, where’d I be?
One day I’ll find a bracelet.
One day we’ll go to sea.

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

